Moving Dreams

For as long as I can remember, I have wanted out of here. I can’t really explain where that feeling comes from; I just know that I have never wanted to permanently stay here. I suppose it’s because I have never felt like I belong here, never felt the “need” to let my roots stem down into the earth in this particular spot. Let’s back up a little shall we?

The first time I remember wanting to get away from here was sometime in the mid-nineties. I’m pretty sure I was at the pool, I don’t remember WHY but I do remember thinking “I never want to live here when I’m big”. It’s a very small town, one where sports and church reign supreme; in other words, if you’re a jock who attends one of the 7 churches in town, you’re golden.

But if you aren’t…..

Oh if you aren’t. If you aren’t the type of person who is okay with a jock picking on a “nerd”, if you aren’t the type of person who can sit by and watch someone get in trouble for something a “popular” person did; this is not the place for you. In case you haven’t caught on yet, I’m NOT that person. I’m the person who spent many a day in In School Suspension (and plenty of time out school for suspension) for sticking up for the people who couldn’t/ wouldn’t stick up for themselves. I’m the one who would get in yelling matches with a football player over his idiocy and lack of understanding. I’m the one who got in trouble for something a cheerleader did.

I don’t fit their mold. I don’t (and haven’t since probably 1993) attend church, I didn’t play sports, and even when I did I didn’t have the right last name and therefore never played. I was a band kid, a student who got good grades everywhere but math, even though I spent most of my time in detention or suspension. I carried a NON ASSIGNED *gasp* book everywhere I went, I worked a full time job in high school so I did my homework in class. The principal at the time, disliked me with such passion that when he happened upon my friends car broken down and stopped; when he noticed I was in the car he said “I was just checking you were okay, hope you get help soon” and immediately took off.

Damian and I have always talked about getting out of here, and not just HERE but the entire state. The past two weeks have granted us a small glimpse of the light at the end of the tunnel; right now, its a tiny pin prick of a light. Damian got hired at a great place and started work Wednesday; I signed the paperwork and officially took over the care of the library. It doesn’t sound like much, but right now JOBS mean we can finally start saving money and repairing dumb credit mistakes we’ve made along our path in adulting.

We’ve decided on an area we would like to move too, we’ve even planned our route there.

Yes, really. We know how many hours exactly its going to take, we know exactly how many stops we are making and where.

These jobs, they mean that we will get to USE that route. We both get all twinkly eyed when we talk about it, we ARE going to move and its going to be a place where we want to let our roots take earth and thrive.

 

With all that said. The goal is ONE YEAR TIL WASHINGTON!!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

